Tuna Poke Recipe

Hawaiian Poke-2I’m a lot of people dream sushi partner because I’m that oddball that’d be more than willing to trade my salmon sashimi for their tuna. I’d appreciate a nice fresh piece of salmon too but I really do have a soft spot for mushy textures that gives a melt-in-your-mouth kinda mouthfeel. This is an EXTREMELY easy recipe to make and but the result feels restaurant-quality, it’s something I would not hesitate serving if I have friends or family over for dinner.

Poke (a raw salad) is a common dish in Hawaii cuisine. For this recipe, make sure you buy sashimi grade tuna so that it is safe to consume raw. I found mine in the frozen sections at Costco and they’re all individually vacuumed pack which makes it a cinch to prepare. Plus, I love the luxury of knowing I have raw tuna available on demand in my freezer!

I wouldn’t recommend eating this dish alone because it can be salty that way. You can certainly use it as a side dish and pair it up with rice or put some on a Japanese-style salad, as a part of a bento…it’s very versatile and the possibilities are endless!

Adapted from The Village Cook

Prep Time: 15 Minutes | Cook Time: N/A | Yields: 4 Servings as a Side or Appetizer
Gluten-Free|Dairy-Free|Egg-Free|Nut-Free

  • 1lb Sashimi Grade Raw Tuna
  • 1/4 cup Soy Sauce
  • 1 tsp Brown Sugar
  • 2 tbsp Rice Vinegar
  • 1 tsp Sriracha
  • 2 tbsp Sesame Oil
  • 3 Scallions, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsp Sesame Seeds
    1. Dice tuna into a 1” cubes. If you bought frozen tuna like I did, I find it easier to cut it while it’s still frozen.
    2. Mix soy sauce, brown sugar, rice vinegar, sriracha and sesame oil together in a bowl. Add tuna, scallions and sesame seeds and gently stir to cover tuna evenly. Cover and leave in the refrigerator to marinate for at least 2 hours, stirring occasionally.

    Note:

  • If you do choose to marinate it overnight, it might get too salty so if you must, I would recommend removing the tuna from the marinade in the morning, then adding it back in with the tuna when you are serving.
  • This recipe is gluten-free if you use gluten-free soy sauce.
  • Hawaiian Poke Nutrition

    Per each of 4 Servings

    Leave a Reply

    